top of page

Please Don't Feed the Bears.


Good Morning, everyone! I hope everyone had a great week and got a chance to practice some deep breathing over the Thanksgiving Holiday!

I've been thinking about what to write for today's post for a few days now and I decided to share a little on the nature of anxiety from my personal clinical experience and then provide another skill for managing the "beast" of anxiety.

What I notice from my clients is that the nature of anxiety can vary widely. It can be about money, or family conflict, car problems, or eating right. Anxiety can be about almost anything, large or small. The one commonality of all worry that I have seen is that it is about something either in the future or in the past. You may worry about something that happened a long time ago or something that hasn't even happened yet. It has nothing to do with the present moment you are in right now. If you are reading this blog post, you are likely safe, warm, and in no physical danger (If you are in physical danger, stop reading this post and get yourself safe).

The nature of worry/stress/anxiety is a leftover survival trait from the days when people had to run from sabertooth tigers and fight off physical attacks. At that time in our evolutionary history, this "fight or flight" response to perceived danger was a wonderful, adaptive response. However, as I sit at my computer, completing my work or as I eat dinner with my family, this protective fight or flight response can be triggered when we really are not in physical danger. These triggers could be something seemingly small, like when my son raises his voice at his sister or when I get a call from my boss chastising me for something I forgot to do before I left work for the day. I am not in physical danger, but my brain and my body are telling me I am, flooding my system with adrenaline and other chemicals that get me ready to fight off a bear or run from a pack of wild dogs. But there are no bears in my kitchen and there are no wild dogs prowling around my computer.

So this wonderful, adaptive, protective response that is so beneficial in times of physical danger (say I think I am about to be mugged) is now triggered. In this case, though, I am sitting safely in my house being filled with fear, jumpiness, racing thoughts, and a whole host of other uncomfortable symptoms. All of this is happening while I try to continue to function in a civilized, responsible, mature adult manner, trying desperately not to crawl out of my skin.

Long story very short: the logical part of your brain that was running the show a few minutes ago has now changed. You are no longer thinking with the mature, rational, adult part of your brain (which is right behind your forehead). You are now operating from your survival brain, which is a much older, more primitive and automatic structure buried deep in the middle of your brain. Your brain has been hijacked by fear and is now in full crisis mode. This can lead to changes in thinking, breathing, heart-rate, and many other bodily functions, all without your awareness. Or permission.

Sound familiar? Read on…

How do you get back into your rational, thinking, adult brain as quickly as possible?

In my last blog post, I presented you with a simple deep breathing technique. For some people, that is enough to help slow the breathing and return to rational thinking. For others, it is not enough and something more intensive is needed. I have found that in those instances where breathing is not enough, a person's brain needs something more to grab onto. It needs a thought or image to anchor to, in addition to the deep breathing. So in this case, some multi-tasking is in order. I will be showing you how to add some visualization to your deep breathing practice.

You will start out in much the same way as you did last week with deep breathing (see the previous post for this information). Then, once you have taken a few deep, peaceful breaths, you will move on to visualizing a peaceful scene of your choosing. This could be the woods, the beach, the mountains, your childhood home, or any place that brings you peace and comfort. In my practice, I have had people imagine their bedroom or living room, a beach in North Carolina, or even a campground from their childhood.

Now, begin to imagine the scene in as much detail as possible, using all five of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, feel and smell). What images do you see there? Take your time with this and imagine things slowly, in as much detail as you are able. What is under your feet? Sand, gravel, grass? Visualize the tiny stones, carpet, or blades of grass. Widen your gaze and see what else is around you in this space. Take notice of the smallest details.

Continue to breathe in and out peacefully and comfortably as you imagine your scene.

What sounds do you hear? Continue to concentrate on the sounds around you. Are there animals here? Is there a fan humming or leaves rustling in the breeze? Can you hear other sounds from far away softly in the background?

What does the air feel like on your skin? Is it warm or cold here? Notice the points where your body makes contact with your environment. What do you feel?

Are there any scents hanging in the air? Can you taste anything? A favorite food or drink?

Remember, as you are picturing and thinking about the scene, continue to breathe peacefully and comfortably, in and out, in even, measured breaths.

Continue this exercise for 10-15 minutes (Longer if needed/appropriate. There is no risk of overdosing on visualization). Hint: If you aren't good at imagining things in detail, go online and find a "guided imagery" or "guided visualization" script or recording. It may not be exactly your preferred peaceful scene, but you may be able to get very close. There are many wonderful recordings of the beach, the woods, or other natural settings. These guided imagery scripts can be extremely helpful to read/listen to and can range from a few minutes to over an hour, so find something that fits your schedule and your preferences.

As with other relaxation techniques, please do not do this while you are driving a car or doing any task which requires your focused attention. Relaxation techniques tend to work best if you use them regularly, so you may need to practice up to several times daily to achieve the full benefit. The more you use it, the more effective it will become. You brain will start to recognize your change in breathing as a signal to start slowing other functions.

If you have any questions about this technique or if you would like to meet with me for a private session to discuss your anxiety or worry, please feel free to call me at 330-451-6306, email me at recoveryworkscounseling@gmail.com or visit the website at www.recoveryworksllc.net for more information. All sessions with me are by appointment only. If you are in crisis, please contact the Crisis Center in Canton at 330-452-6000 for immediate help. You may also go to the nearest emergency department for immediate assistance.

Have a wonderful & peaceful day!

Sincerely,

Trisha L Beck LPCC-S

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page